The Yoto Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Awards are governed by CILIP and a Working Party of members of CILIP’s Youth Libraries Group. The roles included in the Working Party are the Working Party Chair, CILIP Awards Manager, Awards Coordinator, Current Chair of Judges and the Chair Elect, and a representative from CILIP’s School Libraries Group.

Members of the Working Party

Jake Hope
Chair of the Working Party

Jake Hope is Chair of the Working Party, a post which oversees the running and strategic development of the Awards. Jake is an experienced children’s book and reading development consultant, named as one of the UK’s top librarians of the future in the National Love Libraries Campaign. He has written extensively on children’s reading development and librarianship, contributing chapters to numerous books, producing the SLA publication on diversity and inclusion and previews for The Bookseller. He is the author of the recently published book on visual literacy, Seeing Sense, (Facet Publishing, 2020). Jake enjoys working creatively, has strong network links across the book trade and reading sector and is passionate about children’s books and promoting a love of reading and writing with young people and their families.  

Amy McKay
CKG Coordinator

Amy McKay is the National Coordinator of the Yoto Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals, a vital post to oversee the smooth running of judging and the national Shadowing Scheme. Voted School Librarian of the Year in 2016-17, Amy is a familiar face at festivals and on judging panels. She makes regular appearances at Edinburgh and has judged numerous book awards, including the Blue Peter Book Awards and the Nibbies. Describing herself as a ‘stealth librarian’, Amy lures readers in to the library with innovative clubs and activities using her natural rapport to introduce them to the world of books and reading.

Natalie Jones
CILIP Awards Manager

Natalie Jones is CILIP’s Head of Programmes, responsible for overseeing the running of the Yoto Carnegie and Kate Greenaway children’s book awards and Shadowing Scheme alongside colleagues from the Youth Libraries Group. Natalie studied children’s literature and prior to her role at CILIP, worked in publishing. Natalie was the internal lead at CILIP on the Diversity Review of the Awards (2017-18) working alongside the Working Party and independent Review Chair, Dr Margaret Casely-Hayford, and is responsible for the ongoing implementation of the outcomes of this Review. Natalie is passionate about inclusivity and representation in children’s books and committed to working with partners across the book trade to build a nation of readers.

Jennifer Horan
2022 Chair of Judges

Jennifer Horan is the 2022 Chair of Judges, and a former CKG Judge in 2016/2017. Jen is Past Chair of YLG Scotland and current National Rep. She is a Community Librarian for South Lanarkshire Libraries, having previously worked as a school librarian for just under 10 years. In 2021 she was longlisted for Scotland’s Library and Information Professional of the Year. A champion for children’s literature and an avid reader for as long as she can remember, Jen is honoured to be chairing the judging panel for this year’s medals.

Janet Noble
Chair Elect

Janet Noble is the Chair Elect of the 2022 CKG Judges.

“When I was growing up, The Bible was the only book in our house! However, my parents always read newspapers and liked to discuss national and international news events. They made me curious about the world and gave me a thirst for knowledge that led me straight to my local public library – indeed, I’ve never left!

I have 1 husband (so far), 2 cats, 3 children and I have spent 26 years promoting a love of books and reading as a children’s librarian in London. My heritage is Working Class Black British, and my favourite childhood book is The Family from One End Street by Eve Garnett – which was written in 1937! I believe that practitioners from all aspects of the children’s book industry need to be more pro-active in breaking down barriers and challenging stereotypes to ensure that every child can access and enjoy great books that are representative of our diverse society. I want to see more books about the kind of child I was, and still meet, in schools and libraries across the capital every day.

In April 2007, I became a qualified librarian and I have been a committee member of CILIP, the UK library and information association, for the Youth Libraries Group (London) since 2017. I currently work as the librarian at Osmani Primary School in Whitechapel, East London. I was a Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Award (CKG) judge in 2019 and 2020.

I look forward to working with my fellow panel members to promote brilliant and inclusive children’s books.”

Nicola Sutton
SLG Representative

Nicola Sutton is the representative for CILIP School Libraries Group.

Nicola is a school librarian with nearly 10 years of experience working within libraries and bookshops. Nicola is a member of the SLG National Committee and is currently the school librarian at Canons High School, an academy school in Harrow.

Nicola is an avid reader and is very passionate about YA literature. She is always looking for new ways to engage young people to read for pleasure and encourage them to use the library, particularly through the promotion of themed events and activities.

Join the Team

If you are interested in joining the Awards Working Party or becoming a Judge for the Yoto Carnegie Greenaway Awards, we would love to hear from you. Please get in touch at and we will send you more information.