Please note that before 2007 the year refers to when the book was published rather than when the medal was awarded i.e. the 2005 winner was announced and the medal presented in July 2006.

Carnegie Winners - In Print

Click here for the full list of winners

2017 Ruta Sepetys, Salt to the Sea, Puffin
2016 Sarah Crossan, One, Bloomsbury Children's Books
2015 Tanya Landman, Buffalo Soldier, Walker Books
2014 Kevin Brooks, The Bunker Diary, Penguin
2013 Sally Gardner, Maggot Moon, Hot Key Books
2012 Patrick Ness, A Monster Calls, Walker Books
2011 Patrick Ness, Monsters of Men, Walker Books
2010 Neil Gaiman, The Graveyard Book , Bloomsbury Children's Books
2009 Siobhan Dowd, Bog Child, David Fickling
2008 Philip Reeve, Here Lies Arthur, Scholastic
2007 Meg Rosoff, Just in Case, Penguin
2005 Mal Peet, Tamar, Walker Books
2004 Frank Cottrell Boyce, Millions, Macmillan
2003 Jennifer Donnelly, A Gathering Light, Bloomsbury Children's Books
2002 Sharon Creech, Ruby Holler, Bloomsbury Children's Books
2001 Terry Pratchett, The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents, Corgi Children's
2000 Beverly Naidoo, The Other Side of Truth, Puffin
1999 Aidan Chambers, Postcards from No Man's Land, Definitions Paperback
1998 David Almond, Skellig, Hodder Children's Books
1997 Tim Bowler, River Boy, Oxford University Press
1996 Melvin Burgess, Junk, Andersen Press
1995 Philip Pullman, His Dark Materials: Book 1 Northern Lights, Scholastic
1994 Theresa Breslin, Whispers in the Graveyard, Egmont
1993 Robert Swindells, Stone Cold, Puffin
1992 Anne Fine, Flour Babies, Puffin
1991 Berlie Doherty, Dear Nobody, Puffin
1990 Gillian Cross, Wolf, Oxford University Press
1989 Anne Fine, Goggle-eyes, Puffin
1988 Geraldine McCaughrean, A Pack of Lies, Oxford University Press
1987 Susan Price, The Ghost Drum, Price-Clan
1986 Berlie Doherty, Granny was a Buffer Girl, Catnip
1985 Kevin Crossley-Holland, Storm, Egmont
1984 Margaret Mahy, The Changeover, Hachette
1982 Margaret Mahy, The Haunting, Hachette
1981 Robert Westall, The Scarecrows, Definitions Paperback
1977 Gene Kemp, The Turbulent Term of Tyke Tiler, Faber & Faber
1976 Jan Mark, Thunder and Lightnings, Puffin
1975 Robert Westall, The Machine Gunners, Macmillan
1973 Penelope Lively, The Ghost of Thomas Kempe, Egmont
1972 Richard Adams, Watership Down, Puffin
1970 Leon Garfield & Edward Blishen, The God Beneath the Sea, Doubleday
1969 Kathleen Peyton, The Edge of the Cloud , Oxford University Press
1967 Alan Garner, The Owl Service, HarperCollins
1961 Lucy M Boston, A Stranger at Green Knowe, Faber & Faber
1959 Rosemary Sutcliff, The Lantern Bearers, Oxford University Press
1958 Philippa Pearce, Tom's Midnight Garden, Oxford University Press
1957 William Mayne, A Grass Rope, Faber & Faber
1956 C S Lewis, The Last Battle, HarperCollins
1955 Eleanor Farjeon, The Little Bookroom, Oxford University Press
1954 Ronald Welch (aka Ronald Oliver Felton), Knight Crusader, Oxford University Press
1952 Mary Norton, The Borrowers, Puffin
1947 Walter De La Mare, Collected Stories for Children, Oxford City Press
1946 Elizabeth Goudge, The Little White Horse, Lion Hudson
1944 Eric Linklater, The Wind on the Moon, Vintage Children's Classics
1942 'BB' (D J Watkins-Pitchford), The Little Grey Men, Oxford University Press
1939 Eleanor Doorly, Radium Woman, Hesperides Press
1938 Noel Streatfeild, The Circus is Coming, Puffin
1937 Eve Garnett, The Family from One End Street, Puffin Classic
1936 Arthur Ransome, Pigeon Post, Red Fox

Greenaway Winners - In Print

Click here for the full list of winners

2017 Lane Smith, There is a Tribe of Kids, Two Hoots
2016 Chris Riddell, The Sleeper and the Spindle, Bloomsbury
2015 William Grill, Shackleton's Journey, Flying Eye
2014 Jon Klassen, This Is Not My Hat, Walker
2013 Levi Pinfold, Black Dog, Templar
2012 Jim Kay, A Monster Calls, Walker
2011 Grahame Baker-Smith, FArTHER, Templar
2010 Freya Blackwood, Harry & Hopper, Scholastic
2009 Catherine Rayner, Harris Finds His Feet, Little tiger Press
2008 Emily Gravett, Little Mouse's Big Book of Fears, Macmillan
2007 Mini Grey, The Adventures of the Dish and the Spoon, Jonathan Cape
2005 Emily Gravett, Wolves, Macmillan
2004 Chris Riddell, Jonathan Swift's "Gulliver", Walker
2003 Shirley Hughes, Ella's Big Chance, Red Fox (paperback) and Bodley Head (hardback)
2002 Bob Graham, Jethro Byrde - Fairy Child, Walker
2001 Chris Riddell, Pirate Diary, Walker
2000 Lauren Child, I Will Not Ever Never Eat a Tomato, Orchard Books
1999 Helen Oxenbury, Alice's Adventures in Wonderland, Walker
1998 Helen Cooper, Pumpkin Soup, Corgi
1997 P J Lynch, When Jessie Came Across the Sea, Walker
1996 Helen Cooper, The Baby Who Wouldn't Go To Bed, Corgi
1995 P J Lynch, The Christmas Miracle of Jonathan Toomey, Walker
1994 Gregory Rogers, Way Home, Andersen Press
1993 Alan Lee, Black Ships Before Troy, Frances Lincoln
1992 Anthony Browne, Zoo, Red Fox
1991 Janet Ahlberg, The Jolly Christmas Postman, Puffin
1990 Gary Blythe, The Whales' Song, Red Fox
1989 Michael Foreman, War Boy: a Country Childhood, Pavilion
1988 Barbara Firth, Can't You Sleep Little Bear?, Walker
1987 Adrienne Kennaway, Crafty Chameleon, Hodder & Stoughton
1986 Fiona French, Snow White in New York, OUP
1983 Anthony Browne, Gorilla, Walker
1982 Michael Foreman, Sleeping Beauty & Other Favourite Fairy Tales, Hachette
1981 Charles Keeping, The Highwayman, OUP
1980 Quentin Blake, Mr Magnolia, Red Fox
1979 Jan Pienkowski, The Haunted House, Walker
1978 Janet Ahlberg, Each Peach Pear Plum, Puffin
1977 Shirley Hughes, Dogger, Red Fox
1975 Victor Ambrus, Mishka, Macmillan
1973 Raymond Briggs, Father Christmas, Puffin
1971 Jan Pienkowski, The Kingdom under the Sea, PRH
1970 John Burningham, Mr Gumpy's Outing, Red Fox
1969 Helen Oxenbury, The Dragon of an Ordinary Family, Oxford University Press
1963 John Burningham, Borka: the Adventure of a Goose with No Feathers, Jonathan Cape (imprint of PRH)
1959 William Stobbs, A Bundle of Ballads, Oxford University Press
1956 Edward Ardizzone, Tim All Alone, Frances Lincoln Publishers