Winning Year: 2012
Author: Patrick Ness
Title: A Monster Calls

Original Publisher: Walker Books
Current Publisher: Walker Books
Format: paperback
ISBN: 9781406311525
In Print

The monster shows up after midnight. It isn't the one Conor has been expecting; the one from his nightmare; the one he has had nearly every night since his mother started her treatment. But this new monster is ancient, and wild, and it wants something just as dangerous from Conor: the truth. An exquisite piece of writing of great depth which has huge impact upon the reader, guiding them through some difficult emotional lessons. Well plotted and lyrically written with not an unconsidered word, it also handles the relationships between the central characters brilliantly.


Bestselling and award-winning novelist Patrick Ness was born in Virginia, USA, and spent his upbringing in the states of Hawaii, Washington and California. He has lived in London since 1999.

He is the author of a novel and short story collection for adults, but is best known for the Chaos Walking trilogy: The Knife of Never Letting Go, The Ask and the Answer and Monsters of Men. The trilogy has won the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize, the Costa Children's Book of the Year Prize, and the Booktrust Teenage Prize. In 2011 Monsters of Men won the prestigious CILIP Carnegie Medal after all three books in the trilogy were shortlisted, the first time that has ever happened.

Patrick's sixth book A Monster Calls received high critical acclaim and was the winner of the National Book Tokens Children's Book of the Year Award at the Galaxy National Book Awards.