Winning Year: 2015
Author: Tanya Landman
Title: Buffalo Soldier

Original Publisher: Walker Books
Current Publisher: Walker Books
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9781406314595
In Print

Charley, a young African-American slave from the Deep South, is freed at the end of the American Civil War. However her freedom is met with tragedy after her adopted mother is raped and lynched at the hands of a mob, and Charley finds herself alone with no protection. In a terrifyingly lawless land, where the colour of a person's skin can bring violent death, Charley disguises herself as a man and joins the army. Trapped in a world of injustice and inequality, it's only when Charley is posted to Apache territory to fight "savage Indians" that she begins to learn about who she is and what it is to be truly free.


Tanya Landman has written numerous books for children and young people including the ‘Sam Swann' series, The Goldsmith's Daughter, Mondays Are Murder and the beautiful picture book Mary's Penny. She writes with great authority on US history. Her novel Apache was nominated for the 2008 Carnegie Medal. She lives in Bideford, Devon.